Sponsored By



September 6, 2022

4 Min Read

[This unedited press release is made available courtesy of Game Developer and its partnership with notable game PR-related resource Games Press]

Ubisoft |

LONDON, UK – 6TH SEPTEMBER, 2022 – Today, Ubisoft announced that Operation Brutal Swarm, the third season of Rainbow Six Siege’s Year 7, is now available. This season brings Grim, a new Singaporean Operator, an additional map, Phase 2 of the new Reputation System bringing chat sanctions, match replay reporting, and more gameplay improvements. Players can play Rainbow Six Siege for free on PlayStation and PC until 8th September and dive into the new season.

Grim, the newest attacker in Operation Brutal Swarm, is a high speed, low health Operator, equipped with a 552 Commando or SG-CQB as a primary weapon and a P229 as a secondary weapon. His gadget, the Kawan Hive Launcher, fires a projectile that deploys a canister on the floor and releases a swarm of nano bots into the air. Defenders in contact with the swarm will have their position revealed, putting them at high risk until the nano bots run out of battery.  

Alongside Grim, Stadium, a fan-favourite map, arrives at season launch as a permanent map. The map returns under a new name, Stadium Bravo. Utilising elements from other maps and indestructible bulletproof glass, this map challenges both teams to develop new strategies due to the map’s unique layout. 
Operation Brutal Swarm is one of the biggest seasons for major balancing changes impacting the weapons of Rainbow Six Siege: The recoil system has been overhauled with each weapons’ recoil adjusted, the intensity increasing during sustained bursts of fire. This change, exclusive to PC, means that console players will have dedicated recoil updates specially tailored for controllers. Other changes include more weapon attachment options, and the removal of the damage penalty for suppressor attachments.

Alongside Grim, additional updates coming this season include: 

  • The addition of EMP grenades to select Operators’ loadouts

  • Phase 2 of the Reputation System, introducing a new penalty for abusive text chat

  • The ability to report cheaters in the Match Replay viewer

  • New Map Ban phase including five maps, and updates to the tactical map

Also coming with the new season is the return of fan favourite Battle Pass perk: a 10% discount off all items in the shop. This perk is available for future Battle Passes as well. With the new Buy For A Friend Battle Pass Program, players will be able to purchase premium Battle Passes for others who don’t own one.   
Rainbow Six Siege is now available to play on PlayStation®4, PlayStation®5, the Xbox One family of consoles, Xbox Series X | S, Windows PC, including on Ubisoft+, Ubisoft’s subscription service*, Amazon Luna, and Stadia.

For more information about Rainbow Six Siege, please visit: https://rainbow6.ubisoft.com
# # #

*Ubisoft+ on Stadia and Luna requires account linking and a Multi Access plan. Territorial restrictions apply. 

About Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six Siege

Alongside a thriving professional esports scene and a community of over 80 million registered players, Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six Siege puts players in the middle of a fast-paced, ever-evolving multiplayer experience grounded in the selection of unique Operators. Using the right mix of tactics and destruction, Rainbow Six teams engage their enemies in sieges, where both sides have exclusive skills and gadgets at their disposal. Defenders prepare by transforming the environments around them into modern strongholds, while attackers use recon drones to gain intel for carefully planning their assault. With access to dozens of Operators inspired by real world counter-intelligence agents from around the globe, players can choose exactly how they want to approach each challenge they encounter. Through the constant addition of new Operators and maps that add to the depth of both strategy and combat, the unpredictability of each round of Rainbow Six Siege sets a new bar for intensity and competition in gaming.  

About Ubisoft

Ubisoft is a creator of worlds, committed to enriching players’ lives with original and memorable entertainment experiences. Ubisoft’s global teams create and develop a deep and diverse portfolio of games, featuring brands such as Assassin’s Creed®, Brawlhalla®, For Honor®, Far Cry®, Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon®, Just Dance®, Rabbids, Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six®, The Crew®, Tom Clancy’s The Division®, and Watch Dogs®. Through Ubisoft Connect, players can enjoy an ecosystem of services to enhance their gaming experience, get rewards and connect with friends across platforms. With Ubisoft+, the subscription service, they can access a growing catalog of more than 100 Ubisoft games and DLC. For the 2021–22 fiscal year, Ubisoft generated net bookings of €2,129 million. To learn more, please visit: www.ubisoftgroup.com
© 2022 Ubisoft Entertainment. All Rights Reserved. Tom Clancy’s, Rainbow Six, the Soldier Icon, Ubisoft, and the Ubisoft logo are registered or unregistered trademarks of Ubisoft Entertainment in the US and/or other countries. 

Daily news, dev blogs, and stories from Game Developer straight to your inbox

You May Also Like