Sponsored By

Canadian Contest Announces 10 Winners

GameCareerGuide.com congratulates the 10 winners chosen for the inaugural playWrite Program, which will send them through a game writing boot camp, and could help them land an internship in the video game industry.

Jill Duffy, Blogger

May 12, 2008

1 Min Read

The National Screen Institute – Canada (NSI) has announced 10 winners in its inaugural playWRITE contest. The winners are: Jeffrey Campbell; Amanda Doiron; Ryan FitzGerald; Caley Gibson; Calvin Leung; Susan Patrick; Rebecca Schneidereit; Kate Tremills; James Wigmore; and Jennifer Lynne Young – all students in Canada, in accordance with contest rules. The competition is presented by NSI and Telefilm Canada in association with Zeros 2 Heroes. This new program trains developing writers to become narrative designers in the game industry and provides them with the chance to earn an internship with a Canadian game design studio. The winners will all be sent to boot camp-style training, which will be held in late May at Vidfest, the Vancouver International Digital Festival. Then, the Canadian students will return home to design their own game concepts over a two-month period, under the mentorship of video game industry experts. Participants that qualify at the end of this period will then receive an internship at a prestigious Canadian game design studio. Several professional game industry sponsors, including Radical Entertainment and Next Level Games, are supporting the initiative.

About the Author(s)

Jill Duffy


Jill Duffy is the departments editor at Game Developer magazine. Contact her at [email protected].

Daily news, dev blogs, and stories from Game Developer straight to your inbox

You May Also Like