Sponsored By

2009 Nordic Game Awards Finalists Announced

Organizers for the 2009 Nordic Game Awards announced its nominees for several categories, including Bionic Commando: Rearmed, Age of Conan, and Mirror’s Edge for "Best Nordic Game" -- more finalists within.

Eric Caoili, Blogger

March 30, 2009

2 Min Read

Organizers for the the third annual Nordic Game Awards announced its nominees for several categories, with Bionic Commando: Rearmed, Age of Conan, Mirror’s Edge, and several other titles contending for "Best Nordic Game". Nordic Game Awards 2009, put on by Nordic Game Program, will take place on May 19 in Malmo, Sweden alongside the Nordic Game Conference running from May 19 to 20. Swedish TV host and video game columnist Orvar Safstrom will host the event and hand out prizes for four categories -- Best Nordic Game, Best Nordic Children’s Game, Best New Nordic Talent and Best Artistic Achievement. The finalists -- nominated by the game producers’ associations of Denmark, Finland, Norway and Sweden -- for those four categories follow: Best Artistic Achievement: - Age of Conan by Funcom (NOR) - Englekræsj by Ravn Studio (NOR) - Guppylife by Gu! ppyworks (DEN) - Mirror’s Edge by EA DICE (SWE) - Penumbra: Black Plague by Frictional (SWE) - Watchmen by Deadline Games (DEN) Best Nordic Children’s Game: - Englekræsj by Ravn Studio (NOR) - Guppylife by Guppyworks (DEN) - LasseMajas Detektivbyra: Kameleontens hamnd by Bajoum (SWE) - Riding Club by Artplant (NOR) - Skagget i Brevladan by Upside Studios (SWE) Best Nordic Game: - Age of Conan by Funcom (NOR) - Bionic Commando: Rearmed by GRIN (SWE) - Englekræsj by Ravn Studio (NOR) - Global Conflicts: Latin America by Serious Games (DEN) - Guppylife by Guppyworks (DEN) - Mirror’s Edge by EA DICE (SWE) - Trials 2 - Second Edition by Redlynx (FIN) Best New Nordic Talent: - Puzzlegeddon by Pieces Interactive (SWE) - Skybound by Tumbleweed Interactive (NOR) - Symbol6 by Gogogic, (IS) - The Hunter by Avalanche (SWE) - Vertigo by RunJumpDuck Entertainment (SWE) The Nordic Game Awards 2009 jury will meet on April 15th to evaluate the nominees and select the winners. The jury is comprised of the following representatives appointed by the Nordic game producers’ associations and Nordic Game Program -- Snorre Bryne, Thomas Puha, Steve Dalskog, John Severinson, and Thomas Vigild.

About the Author(s)

Eric Caoili


Eric Caoili currently serves as a news editor for Gamasutra, and has helmed numerous other UBM Techweb Game Network sites all now long-dead, including GameSetWatch. He is also co-editor for beloved handheld gaming blog Tiny Cartridge, and has contributed to Joystiq, Winamp, GamePro, and 4 Color Rebellion.

Daily news, dev blogs, and stories from Game Developer straight to your inbox

You May Also Like