Sponsored By

Portal Takes Game Of The Year At 2008 Choice Awards

Valve's Portal has picked up three awards at the 8th annual Game Developers Choice Awards, including Innovation, Game Design and Game of the Year, as 2K Boston/2K Australia's BioShock made off with another three, and Crackdown, Crysis

February 21, 2008

2 Min Read

Author: by Staff

Valve's genre-blending first person shooter/puzzler, Portal, was the recipient of three honors including Game of the Year at the 8th annual Game Developers Choice Awards, presented at a ceremony this evening at CMP's 2008 Game Developers Conference (GDC). The game -- one of three new games on the developer's Orange Box, alongside Half-Life 2: Episode 2 and Team Fortress 2 -- also took the prizes for Innovation and Best Game Design. Also taking three awards was 2K Boston/2K Australia's blockbuster shooter, Bioshock, which won for Best Audio, Best Visual Art and Best Writing. Realtime Worlds' Crackdown, Thatgamecompany's Fl0w, Crytek's Crysis and Nintendo's The Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass were the recipients of the remaining awards, taking home one honor each. Produced and hosted by GDC and presented by Gamasutra.com and Game Developer Magazine, the Game Developers Choice Awards honors the creators of the best video games released during the previous calendar year, as well as awarding key figures from the video game community. "The Game Developers Choice Awards stand out from other game industry prizes by being open to all games of a calendar year and by recognizing the individual developers behind each celebrated game," said Jamil Moledina, executive director of the Game Developers Conference. "We are thrilled gamers at home will be able to meet the people behind their favorite games when our first ever television broadcast special on the awards airs soon on the G4 television network." The recipients of the 8th Annual Game Developers Choice Awards are: 2007 Best Game Design Portal (Valve) Kim Swift, Realm Lovejoy, Paul Graham 2007 Best Visual Art BioShock (2K Boston/2K Australia / 2K Games) Scott Sinclair, Shawn Robertson, Andrew James 2007 Best Technology Crysis (Crytek/Electronic Arts) Cevat Yerli, Douglas Binks, Timur Davidenko, Martin Mittring 2007 Best Writing BioShock (2K Boston/2K Australia / 2K Games) Ken Levine, Emily Ridgway, Joe McDonagh, Susan O'Connor 2007 Best Audio BioShock (2K Boston/2K Australia / 2K Games) Eric Brosius, Pat Balthrop, Emily Ridgway, Justin Mullins 2007 Best Debut Crackdown (Real Time Worlds / Microsoft Game Studios) Ramon Gonzalez, Violetta Sanchez, Rafael Diaz, Jose Guerra 2007 Innovation Portal (Valve) Kim Swift, Erik Wolpaw 2007 Best Handheld Game The Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass (Nintendo / Nintendo) Eiji Aonuma 2007 Best Downloadable Game Flow (thatgamecompany / Sony Computer Entertainment) Kellee Santiago, Jenova Chen, Martin Middleton, Hao Cui, John Edwards, Nick Clark 2007 Game of the Year Portal (Valve) Kim Swift, Erik Wolpaw Recipients for the evening's special awards were: Lifetime Achievement Award Sid Meier Pioneer Award Ralph Baer Ambassador Award Jason Della Rocca "It was an incredible year of innovation, top-notch explorations within known franchises and introductions of great new properties," Simon Carless, publisher, Gamasutra.com and Game Developer. "The whole community mobilized to express their admiration for the best works, and we are proud to present these meaningful peer awards."

Read more about:

event gdc
Daily news, dev blogs, and stories from Game Developer straight to your inbox

You May Also Like