Sponsored By

Xbox Rollout Continues In Six New Countries

Microsoft said today that the next countries to get the Xbox will be South Korea, Hong Kong, Singapore, Taiwan, New Zealand and Mexico -- but didn't reveal when that rollout would happen.

Game Developer, Staff

July 23, 2002

1 Min Read

Right now the Xbox can only be purchased in the United States, Canada, Japan, Western Europe and Australia. In an interview with Reuters, John O'Rourke, director of Xbox marketing, said that the countries selected to get the Xbox next were chosen based on their affinity for online gaming. "Many of these countries were chosen because they are hotbeds of online gaming," he said. O'Rourke said that the Xbox pricing in these countries would be competitive, and that Microsoft would not repeat the problems it had in Europe when it overpriced the console.

Daily news, dev blogs, and stories from Game Developer straight to your inbox

You May Also Like