Sponsored By

IGDA Announces Nominations For 2002 Game Developers Choice Awards

The International Game Developers Association (IGDA) announced the nominees for the annual <a href="http://www.igda.org/awards">Game Developers Choice Awards</a>, which will be held March 21 at the Game Developers Conference in San Jose, CA.

Game Developer

February 12, 2002

3 Min Read

The nominees are: Game of the Year

  • Black and White (Lionhead Studios)

    • Grand Theft Auto III(DMA Design/Rockstar Games)

    • Halo: Combat Evolved (Bungie Studios)

    • Ico (Sony Computer Entertainment, Inc.)

    • Max Payne (Remedy Entertainment) Rookie Studio of the Year

    • Adrenium Games for Azurik: Rise of Perathia

    • Bohemia Interactive Studio for Operation Flashpoint

    • Croteam for Serious Sam

    • Pseudo Interactive for Cel Damage

    • Timegate Studios for Kohan: Immortal Sovereigns Original Game Character of the Year

    • Dante from Devil May Cry

    • Daxter from Jak and Daxter: The Precusor Legacy

    • Ico from Ico

    • Max Payne from Max Payne

    • Munch from Oddworld: Munch's Oddysee Excellence in Audio

    • Erik Kraber & Jack Grillo for sound design in Clive Barker's Undying

    • Harry Gregson-Williams for composition in Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty

    • Josh Randall for sound design in Frequency

    • Marty O’Donnell & team for sound effects in Halo: Combat Evolved

    • Thomas Engel, Rudy Stember, and Chris Huelsbeck for sound engineering in Star Wars Rogue Squadron II: Rogue Leader Excellence in Game Design

    • Fumito Ueda & team for game design in Ico

    • GTA3 team for game play in Grand Theft Auto III

    • Lorne Lanning & Chris Ulm for story/writing of Oddworld: Munch's Oddysee

    • Peter Molyneux & team for game design in Black and White

    • Shigeru Miyamto & team for game design in Pikmin Excellence in Level Design

    • Craig Filshie, William Mills, Chris Rothwell & James

    • Worrall for level design in Grand Theft Auto III

    • Fumito Ueda & team for level design in Ico

    • Ghost Recon team for level design in Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon

    • Scott Campbell, Dave Jaffe, Kellan Hatch & team for level design in Twisted Metal: Black

    • Toshihiro Nagoshi & team for level design in Super Monkey Ball Excellence in Programming

    • Kazunori Yamauchi & team for physics in Gran Turismo 3 A-Spec

    • Andy Gavin for programming in Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy

    • Jason Jones and team for programming in Halo: Combat Evolved

    • Richard Evans for artificial intelligence in Black and White

    • Sherman Archibald, John Carmack & Ryan Feltrin for graphics in Return to Castle Wolfenstein Excellence in Visual Arts

    • Dan Arey & Evan Wells for animation in Jak and Daxter: The Precursor Legacy

    • Fumito Ueda & team for art direction in Ico

    • Kazunori Yamauchi & team for modeling in Gran Turismo 3 A-Spec

    • Lorne Lanning & Farzad Varahramyan for art direction in Oddworld: Munch's Oddysee

    • Tetsuya Mizuguchi & team for art direction in Rez Game Innovation Spotlights

    • Black and White (Lionhead Studios)

    • Cel Damage (Pseudo Interactive)

    • Frequency (Harmonix Music Systems)

    • Grand Theft Auto III (DMA Design)

    • Ico (Sony Computer Entertainment, Inc.)

    • Kohan: Immortal Sovereigns (Timegate Studios)

    • Majestic (Electronic Arts)

    • Max Payne (Remedy Entertainment)

    • Rez (United Game Artists)

    • Super Monkey Ball (Amusement Vision) Jason Della Rocca, the IGDA's program director, said that that nominations were free and open to all professional game developers, regardless of membership or affiliation. An advisory committee from the IGDA will select the recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award, First Penguin Award and the IGDA Award for Community Contribution. The GDC is produced by the Gama Network, the same organization that publishes Gamasutra.

Daily news, dev blogs, and stories from Game Developer straight to your inbox

You May Also Like