Sponsored By

The Game Developers Choice Awards Advisory Board has named the 2007 special award recipients, with Nintendo's Shigeru Miyamoto getting a Lifetime Achievement Award, and other major awards for Tetris creator Alexey Pajitnov, Manifesto Games' Greg Co

Simon Carless, Blogger

February 12, 2007

2 Min Read

The Game Developers Choice Awards Advisory Board has named the 2007 special award recipients for the Awards, which will take place on March 7th at the Moscone Center in San Francisco during GDC, revealing the winners of its regular jury-selected special honors. Alexey Pajitnov, creator of Tetris, will receive the First Penguin Award for pioneering the casual games market; veteran designer and Manifesto Games founder Greg Costikyan will receive the Maverick Award for his tireless efforts to create a viable channel for indie games; and game audio legend George "The Fatman" Sanger will receive the Community Contribution Award for his numerous programs that encourage interactive audio innovation and industry improvement. In addition, Nintendo game design icon Shigeru Miyamoto will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award for a career that spans the creation of Donkey Kong, Super Mario Bros. and The Legend of Zelda to the company's recent revolutionary systems, Nintendo DS and Wii. Recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award, as with the other awards, are selected by the Choice Awards Advisory Board, comprised of a diverse set of developers from around the globe. Past recipients of this award include Richard Garriott, Eugene Jarvis, Mark Cerny, Gunpei Yokoi (posthumously), Yuji Naka and Will Wright. "This year's recipients of the Game Developers Choice Award special honors reflect the dramatic impact of their visionary creations and industry work," said Jamil Moledina, Executive Director of the Game Developers Conference. "Our four honorees are each responsible for inspiring the industry to creative heights through personal example and challenging conventional wisdom." The seventh annual Game Developers Choice Awards will also hand out honors for Best Game, Audio, Character Design, Game Design, Technology, Visual Arts, Writing and Innovation. For more information about the ceremony or award nominees, interested parties can visit the Game Developers Choice Awards website.

About the Author(s)

Simon Carless


Simon Carless is the founder of the GameDiscoverCo agency and creator of the popular GameDiscoverCo game discoverability newsletter. He consults with a number of PC/console publishers and developers, and was previously most known for his role helping to shape the Independent Games Festival and Game Developers Conference for many years.

He is also an investor and advisor to UK indie game publisher No More Robots (Descenders, Hypnospace Outlaw), a previous publisher and editor-in-chief at both Gamasutra and Game Developer magazine, and sits on the board of the Video Game History Foundation.

Daily news, dev blogs, and stories from Game Developer straight to your inbox

You May Also Like