Sponsored By

Now's the time to apply for the AIAS' inaugural 'WomenIn' game dev scholarships

The Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences reveals its latest scholarship winners and opens a call for applications to its brand-new "WomenIn" scholarship for women seeking careers in game dev.

Alex Wawro

September 28, 2016

1 Min Read

The Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences has announced the latest winners of its annual scholarship program and opened a call for applications to its brand-new "WomenIn" scholarship, which aims to support women seeking education and mentorship for careers in the game industry.

These scholarships are awarded through the AIAS Foundation, a philanthropic arm of the AIAS proper, and are a potentially valuable source of support for devs seeking to strengthen their footing in the game industry. 

As in years prior, the AIAS Foundation will award $2,500 apiece to the four winners of this year's Randy Pausch and Mark Beaumont Scholarships: Marchelle Lundquist (Columbia University), Yuanqing Wu (NYU), Khalia Hall (University of California, Irvine) and Christopher Kao (USC).

They'll also have the opportunity to participate in a "year-long mentorship program" and be given free passes to the AIAS' D.I.C.E. Summit next February.

At the same time, the AIAS is now accepting applications through October 31st for its "WomenIn" Scholarship Fund, which it debuted back in January in an effort to support "female students and early career gaming professionals" via scholarships, mentoring and educational initiatives.

The program is open to women students seeking to build a career as game developers or game industry business professionals, and those selected will be eligible to receive benefits that include mentoring and up to $2,500. 

Further details on the "WomenIn" initiative and its requirements can be found on the application form itself.

Read more about:


About the Author(s)

Daily news, dev blogs, and stories from Game Developer straight to your inbox

You May Also Like