Sponsored By

The lavish show aims to recognize creative and technical excellence in the global video game industry.

Chris Kerr, News Editor

December 10, 2021

2 Min Read

It Takes Two has been crowned Game of The Year at The Game Awards. Hazelight Studios' co-op puzzler pipped other nominees including Psychonauts 2, Metroid Dread, and Deathloop to the post and took home the prestigious prize.

Geoff Keighley's annual buffet of game trailers and announcements, with the odd award thrown in for good measure, took place at the Microsoft Theatre in Los Angeles. The lavish show aims to recognize creative and technical excellence in the global video game industry.

Other winners on the night included Deathloop, which nabbed the awards for Best Game Direction and Best Art Direction; Forza Horizon 5, which received statues for Best Sports/Racing Game, Innovation in Accessibility, and Best Audio Design; and Kena: Bridge of Spirits, which was honored in the Best Indie Game and Best Debut Indie Game categories.

Elsewhere, Elden Ring was named the Most Anticipated Game, It Takes Two also grabbed the Best Multiplayer Game and Best Family Game awards, and Metroid Dread won out in the Best Action/Adventure Game category.

30 awards were handed out in total, and we've taken the liberty of reprinting some of the most notable winners below. Anybody after a full rundown can find the complete list of winners over on The Game Awards website.

The Game Awards 2021 Winners

Game of the Year -- It Takes Two (Hazelight Studios / EA)

Best Game Direction -- Deathloop (Arkane Studios / Bethesda)

Best Narrative -- Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy (Eidos Montreal / Square Enix)

Best Art Direction -- Deathloop (Arkane Studios / Bethesda)

Best Score and Music -- Nier Replicant Ver.1.22474487139 (Keiichi Okabe)

Best Audio Design -- Forza Horizon 5 (Playground Games / Xbox Game Studios)

Games for Impact -- Life is Strange: True Colors (Deck Nine / Square Enix)

Best Ongoing -- Final Fantasy XIV Online (Square Enix)

Best Indie -- Kena: Bridge of Spirits (Ember Lab)

Best Mobile Game -- Genshin Impact (MiHoYo)

Innovation in Accessibility -- Forza Horizon 5 (Playground Games / Xbox Game Studios)

Best VR / AR -- Resident Evil 4 (Armature Studio / Capcom / Oculus Studios)

Best Action Game -- Returnal (Housemarque / SIE)

Best Action / Adventure Game -- Metroid Dread (Nintendo)

Best Role Playing -- Tales of Arise (Bandai Namco)

Best Fighting -- Guilty Gear Strive (Arc System Works)

Best Family -- It Takes Two (Hazelight Studios / EA)

Best Sim / Strategy -- Age of Empires IV (Relic Entertainment / Xbox Game Studios)

Best Sports / Racing -- Forza Horizon 5 (Playground Studios / Xbox Game Studios)

Best Multiplayer -- It Takes Two (Hazelight Studios / EA)

Best Esports Game -- League of Legends (Riot Games)

About the Author(s)

Chris Kerr

News Editor, GameDeveloper.com

Game Developer news editor Chris Kerr is an award-winning journalist and reporter with over a decade of experience in the game industry. His byline has appeared in notable print and digital publications including Edge, Stuff, Wireframe, International Business Times, and PocketGamer.biz. Throughout his career, Chris has covered major industry events including GDC, PAX Australia, Gamescom, Paris Games Week, and Develop Brighton. He has featured on the judging panel at The Develop Star Awards on multiple occasions and appeared on BBC Radio 5 Live to discuss breaking news.

Daily news, dev blogs, and stories from Game Developer straight to your inbox

You May Also Like