ICHEG's first World Video Game Hall of Fame finalists revealed

The Strong National Museum of Play's International Center for the History of Electronic Games has announced the 15 finalists for its first slate of hall of fame inductees.

In February the International Center for the History of Electronic Games (ICHEG) at The Strong National Museum of Play announced plans to create a World Video Game Hall of Fame -- with plans to induct several iconic, influential, long-lived games. The public was invited to nominate games; the first group of finalists, both old and new, has been revealed, as pictured above.

  • Angry Birds
  • Doom
  • FIFA
  • The Legend of Zelda
  • Minecraft
  • The Oregon Trail
  • Pac-Man
  • Pokémon
  • Pong
  • The Sims
  • Sonic the Hedgehog
  • Space Invaders
  • Super Mario Bros.
  • Tetris
  • World of Warcraft

The inductees will be announced in a ceremony at the museum on June 4. For more information on the games included, you can read the ICHEG's release.

The museum has of late done a great deal to preserve game history: It's amassed collections from classic publishers such as Broderbund, Atari, SSI, and a massive library of classic Japanese games.

Latest Jobs

Cryptic Studios

Senior Producer

Anne Arundel Community College

Arnold, MD, USA
Instructor/Assistant Professor, Game Art

Night School Studio

Los Angeles, CA, USA
Level Designer / Scripter, Games Studio
More Jobs   


Explore the
Subscribe to
Follow us

Game Developer Job Board

Game Developer Newsletter


Explore the

Game Developer Job Board

Browse open positions across the game industry or recruit new talent for your studio

Subscribe to

Game Developer Newsletter

Get daily Game Developer top stories every morning straight into your inbox

Follow us


Follow us @gamedevdotcom to stay up-to-date with the latest news & insider information about events & more