Sponsored By

The Last of Us takes five BAFTA awards, including Best Game

The British Academy of Film and Television honors Naughty Dog's massively award-winning game with further plaudits, alongside wins for Tearaway and Gone Home, among others.

Christian Nutt

March 12, 2014

1 Min Read

Tonight, the British Academy of Film and Television gave out its annual awards for games, with The Last of Us nabbing five after having been nominated 10 times. In addition to winning Best Game, The Last of Us picked up awards for the Action and Adventure genre, Audio Achievement, and Story; also, Ashley Johnson won the Performer category for her turn as Ellie. Tearaway picked up Artistic Achievement and Family awards, while Grand Theft Auto V nabbed Game Design and Multiplayer category awards, in addition to the previously announced Fellowship award for Rockstar Games. Indies weren't shut out from the awards, either: Gone Home won Debut Game for The Fullbright Company, and Lucas Pope's Papers, Please sailed past established developers like Firaxis to win Strategy and Simulation. The full slate of winners and nominees is available at the BAFTA site.

About the Author(s)

Daily news, dev blogs, and stories from Game Developer straight to your inbox

You May Also Like