Sponsored By

Assassin's Creed, Arkham City authors nominated for Writers Guild award

The Writers Guild of America has nominated Assassin's Creed: Revelations, Batman: Arkham City, and Uncharted 3 among other candidates for its annual video game writing award.

Tom Curtis, Blogger

January 11, 2012

2 Min Read

The Writers Guild of America has nominated games including Assassin's Creed: Revelations, Batman: Arkham City, and Uncharted 3 as the latest candidates for its annual video game writing award, with the winner to be announced this February. The annual Writers Guild Awards honor standout writing across a wide range of media industries, and this year marks the fifth time the organization has included a category dedicated to video games. This year, the WGA selected among games released between December 1, 2010 and November 30, 2011, and credited game writers must have been or applied to become members of the WGA Video Game Writers Caucus at the time their scripts were submitted. The nominated games and respective writers for the 2012 Writers Guild Awards are as follows: - Assassin’s Creed: Revelations, story by Alexandre Amancio, Jean Guesdon, Corey May, Darby McDevitt; multiplayer story by Stephane Blais, Richard Farrese, Jeffrey Yohalem; lead script writer Darby McDevitt; script writers Richard Farrese, Nicholas Grimwood, Corey May, Jeffrey Yohalem; Greek and Turkish ambient dialogue writer Vincenzo Beretta; Ubisoft - Batman: Arkham City, lead narrative designer Paul Crocker; story written by Paul Dini, Paul Crocker and Sefton Hill; Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment - Brink, lead writer Edward "Bongoboy" Stern; Bethesda Softworks - Mortal Kombat, story by John Vogel, Brian Chard, Dominic Cianciolo, Alexander Barrentine, Jon Greenberg; Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment - Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception, written by Amy Hennig; Sony Computer Entertainment Last year, the award went to Ubisoft's Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood, which won over nominees such as God of War III, Fallout: New Vegas, and Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II. The 2012 WGA awards will take place February 19 across two simultaneous ceremonies for the guild's western and eastern constituencies, in Los Angeles and New York City, respectively.

Read more about:


About the Author(s)

Tom Curtis


Tom Curtis is Associate Content Manager for Gamasutra and the UBM TechWeb Game Network. Prior to joining Gamasutra full-time, he served as the site's editorial intern while earning a degree in Media Studies at the University of California, Berkeley.

Daily news, dev blogs, and stories from Game Developer straight to your inbox

You May Also Like