informa
/
DISCIPLINES
Featured Blog

15 of Gamasutra's best articles over the last quarter

Hey readers! I realize that often some of Gamasutra's best blogs and articles get buried over the course of time, so I figure it's worthwhile to start highlighting some of our best recently-published articles.

Kris Graft is editor-in-chief, Gamasutra (@krisgraft)

Hey readers! I realize that often some of Gamasutra's best blogs and articles get buried over the course of time, so I figure it's worthwhile to start highlighting some of our best recently-published articles.

The 15 pieces below (10 blogs from game developers, and five articles from Gamasutra writers and contributors) are from the first quarter of this year (January-March). The list is a mix of our highest-trafficked articles, and some lower-trafficked-but-still-excellent articles. Bookmark this blog post or add it to your lists for later reading, or just go freaking nuts and read all of these articles right now. I'll highlight some more later down the line.

Last but not least, a HUGE thanks to our game developer bloggers who take the time to share their knowledge with their peers via our blogs -- Gamasutra simply would not be as good without you all. (If you'd like to start blogging on Gamasutra, here are the guidelines.)

Developer blogs

DeepMind Challenges for StarCraft – Ben Weber, Sr. Data Analyst at EA (@bgweber)

Why League of Legends is the World's Greatest Game – Keith Burgun, Lead Game Designer at Dinofarm Games (@keithburgun)

Logic Over Time – Jean Simonet, Systems and AI Programmer (@jean_simonet)

Clash Royale - Deconstructing Supercell's Next Billion Dollar Game – Michail Katkoff, Design Director at Zynga (@m_katkoff)

What I Learned From Our Game Having a "Mostly Negative" Rating on Steam – Nicholas Laborde, Founder at Raconteur Games (@ChiefRaconteur)

Water interaction model for boats in video games: Part 2 – Jacques Kerner, Senior Software Engineer at Avalanche Studios

Watch Paint Dry – Ruby Nealon, Infosec Blogger (@RubyLust)

Traversal Level Design Principles – Travis Hoffstetter, Lead Gameplay Designer at Visceral Games

Why Your Kickstarter Will Fail – Thomas Brush, Owner at Atmos Games (@atmosgames)

The Mechanics of Tension – Chris Pruett, Developer Relations at Oculus, Co-founder at Robot Invader (@c_pruett)

Original editorial

The 4 years of self-imposed crunch that went into Stardew Valley – By Chris Baker (@chrisbaker1337)

7 uses of procedural generation that all developers should study – By Richard Moss (@MossRC)

Q&A: Jonathan Blow on The Witness and the state of indie games – By Lexi Pandell (@lpandell)

The afterimage of Final Fantasy VII – By Christian Nutt (@ferricide)

Jake Solomon explains the careful use of randomness in XCOM 2 – By Roy Graham (@grayhaem)

Latest Jobs

Sucker Punch Productions

Bellevue, Washington
08.27.21
Combat Designer

Xbox Graphics

Redmond, Washington
08.27.21
Senior Software Engineer: GPU Compilers

Insomniac Games

Burbank, California
08.27.21
Systems Designer

Deep Silver Volition

Champaign, Illinois
08.27.21
Senior Environment Artist
More Jobs   

CONNECT WITH US

Register for a
Subscribe to
Follow us

Game Developer Account

Game Developer Newsletter

@gamedevdotcom

Register for a

Game Developer Account

Gain full access to resources (events, white paper, webinars, reports, etc)
Single sign-on to all Informa products

Register
Subscribe to

Game Developer Newsletter

Get daily Game Developer top stories every morning straight into your inbox

Subscribe
Follow us

@gamedevdotcom

Follow us @gamedevdotcom to stay up-to-date with the latest news & insider information about events & more